Fajr International Film Festival 2021: Full List of Winners

Fajr International Film Festival 2021: Full List of Winners

The 2021 FIFF winners have been announced. This is the place to be to see who won big at the 38th Fajr International Film Festival.

The curtain fell on this year’s hybrid edition, presided over by Mohammad Mehdi Asgarpour, on Wednesday, 2 June. Charsou Cineplex hosted the virtual closing ceremony at 11:30 am Tehran local time. The most anticipated moments of the awards ceremony included a statement by Director Asgarpour.

Addressing the ceremony, Festival Director said: As you know, due to the global pandemic we had to cancel last year’s festival. We watched closely other festivals and gained valuable experiences along the way. In fact, we also played a part in garnering these health guidelines for others to follow. They helped us organize this year’s hybrid festival – part in-person participation and part virtual.

The award-winning director and screenwriter added: We had over 300 film screening programs as well, while following social distancing measures and health protocols. The number of in-person audiences in different sections were high. It’s very important and valuable that we could organize the festival amid restrictions.

The winners of this year’s festival received their awards online. The festival ran from May 26 to June 2.

Here are the winners:

International Competition

Best Film (Golden Simorgh)

Natural Light directed by Dénes Nagy, produced by Sára László, Marcell Gerő, Inese Boka-Grūbe, Caroline Piras, Melanie Blocksdorf (Hungary, Latvia, France, Germany).

Best Director (Silver Simorgh)

Denis Cote for Social Hygiene (Canada)

Best Actress (Silver Simorgh)

Laura Birn for Helene (Finland, Estonia)

Best Actor (Silver Simorgh)

Hamid Farokhnejad for Major (Iran)

Best Script (Silver Simorgh)

Ferit Karahan, Gulistan Acet for Brother’s Keeper (Turkey, Romania)

Best Short Film (Silver Simorgh)

The White Wall by Andrea Brusa, Marco Scotuzzi (Italy)

Special Mention for Short Film (Diploma of Honor)

Emergency by Maryam Esmikhani (Iran)

International Competition Jury (Cinema Salvation)
Mirjana Karanovic (Serbia), Brillante Ma Mendoza (Philippines), Laila Pakalnina (Latvia), Elma Tataragic (Bosnia and Herzegovina), Morten Kaufmann (Denmark), Fatemeh Motamed-Arya (Iran), Shahram Mokri (Iran)

Eastern Vista

Best Film Award (Golden Simorgh)

Asteroid by Mahdi Hosseinivand Alipour (Iran)

Best Director Award (Silver Simorgh)

Alireza Samadi for Staging (Iran)

Best Script Award (Silver Simorgh)

Ameen Nayfeh for 200 Meters (Jordan, Palestine Qatar, Sweden, Italy)

Special Mention for Best Actress (Diploma of Honor)

Da-in Yoo for I Don’t Fire Myself (Korea)

Outstanding Artistic Contribution Award (Silver Simorgh)

Mark Lee Ping-Bing for Anima (China)

Best Short Film Award (Silver Simorgh)

Ebrahim Handal for BETHLEHEM 2001 (Palestine)

Eastern Vista Jury (Panorama of Films from Asian and Islamic Countries)
Fatma AL-Remaihi (Qatar), Diana Ashimova (Kazakhstan), Marina Gulbahari (Afghanistan), Mahmut Fazil Coskun (Turkey), Mastaneh Mohajer (Iran)

First Film Award 

Botox by Kaveh Mazaheri (Iran, Canada)

First Film Jury
Dina Iordanova (Bulgaria), Loreta Gandolfi (Italy), Morteza Farshbaf (Iran)

Muhammad Al-Ameen Award

Fear by Ivaylo Hristov (Bulgaria)

Interfaith Award

The Dogs Didn’t Sleep Last Night by Ramin Rasouli (Afghanistan)

Interfaith Jury
Magali Van Reeth (France), Magimai Pragasam (India), Habib Reza Arzani (Iran)

Fipresci Award

200 Meters by Ameen Nayfeh (Jordan, Palestine Qatar, Sweden, Italy)

Fipresci Jury
Aylin Tasciyan (Turkey), Giovanni Vimercati (Italy), Omid Roohani (Iran)


Major by Ehsan Abdipour (Iran)

Italo Spinelli (Italy), Anne Demy Geroe (Australia), Farhad Tohidi (Iran)

Copyrigh © 1982 - 2022 FIff. All rights reserved.