• Feature
  • 2017
  • 95 Minutes
  • Argentina, Brazil, Poland, France
  • Language: Spanish

Malena is a middle-class doctor in Buenos Aires. One afternoon she receives a call from Dr Costas, telling her she must leave immediately for the north of the country: the baby she was expecting is about to be born. Suddenly and almost without a thought, Malena decides to set out on an uncertain voyage, packed with crossroads at which she has to deal with all sorts of legal and moral obstacles to the extent that she constantly asks herself to what limits she is prepared to go to get the thing she wants most.

Director: Diego Lerman

Screenwriter: Diego Lerman, María Meira

Production Company: .: El Campo Cine, 27 Films Production, Bellota Films, Bossa Nova Films, Instituto Nacional de Cine y Artes Audiovisuales (INCAA) (with the support of), Productora MG, Red Rental, Snowglobe Films, Staron Film, Televisión Federal (Telefe)



2017: Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences of Argentina

Chicago International Film Festival won best feature film/ CPH PIX

Philadelphia Film Festival

San Sebastián International Film Festival won Jury Prize for Best Screenplay

2018: Miami Film Festival

Cast and Crew

Screenwriter: Diego Lerman, María Meira

DOP / Camera: Wojciech Staron

Editor: Alejandro Brodersohn

Music: Caio Mariano

Sound: Benjamin Laurent, Bernardo Uzeda, Tomas Alem

Producer: Nicolás Avruj, Diego Lerman

Cast: Bárbara Lennie, Daniel Aráoz, Claudio Tolcachir, Yanina Ávila, Paula Cohen


Diego Lerman

Diego Lerman debuted in 2002 with the feature film Tan de repente (Suddenly, 2002), Silver Leopard winner at the Locarno Festival, among other awards. Next came Mientras tanto (Meanwhile, 2006), a participant in the Official Selection at the Venice Festival. In 2007 he directed the documentary Servicios prestados, presented in Locarno. His two following films, La mirada invisible (The Invisible Eye, 2010) and Refugiado (2014), were screened in the Directors’ Fortnight at the Cannes Festival. He also directed the TV series La casa (2015).

Copyrigh © 1982 - 2022 FIff. All rights reserved.